It was predicted that, with the development of technology, people in the 21st century would have much more free time in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

The proliferation of state–of-the-art technologies has catalyzed a plethora of major changes revolving around multitudinous facets. When it comes to this matter, some hold the notion that today people’s leisure time has ascended thanks to the assistance of automation. From my own perspective, although partially siding with the above-mentioned point of view, developmental technologies do not necessarily render people unoccupied.

On the one hand, proponents of the proposed idea contend that people have a tendency to have more free time given technological betterment. It is, indeed, genuine since the availability of electronic devices and gadgets allows people to accomplish the tasks much more effortlessly and efficaciously, thereby having more free time for their own. A prime example for this represents the advent of ChatGPT which facilitates the progressive completion of almost anything in the field of work and study altogether. Particularly, these days, students may simply resort to ChatGPT for their assignments to be done as quickly as possible without being obligated to compensate much. Moreover, technologies are of enormous help for those leading a rather hectic life but having to run the errands. Granted, life has been much effortless with the advent of automatic robots, helping people handle household chores and other stuff that would cost them a lot of time and effort. As a consequence, people would possess more leisure time, utilizing for the sake of diversion.

On the other hand, the so-called technological assistance, albeit meritorious, does not necessarily mean these days people will be more unoccupied than they used to in the past for a multiplicity of reasons. FIrst, they are still obligated to perfect the raw byproducts generated by technologies. To clarify, since robots or other kinds of technologies may produce the raw sketches or unfinished products, people are still under an obligation to improve them. As a consequence, they may not have much more free time as is predicted, not to mention the fact that mistakes begotten by technologies may require heightened amount of time to fix. Second, the booming development of technologies is tantamount to the unstoppable rise of competition, especially manifest in the cut-throat marketplace. Indisputably, since more and more automation is employed in various fields, people have to cultivate practicable skills, grasp understandings, thereby facilitating their working positions properly and shunning redundancy.That stated, having more free time amidst such modern context is not something literally reasonable.

In conclusion, although it’s partly true that technologies allow larger time funds for recreation and other purposes, the imperfections and competitiveness, considered their byproducts, in another way, would hamper the availability of leisurely time. The onus is on individuals to make use of technologies for their own sake and without compensating much time.