Lack of fresh water is becoming a global issue of increasing importance. What problems does the shortage of fresh water cause? What measures could be taken to overcome these problems?

It is a well known fact that fresh water is paramount for sustaining human life as without this life-giving substance human life is unimaginable. Water is a fundamental building block of any life. This essay will demonstrate various problems caused by its shortage as well as solutions to this problem.

A major issue that arises out of a lack of fresh water is the deterioration of human health because humans regularly need to drink plenty of water to keep their body in proper and working condition. For example, various research conducted in India in the late 2010s have conclude that communities that lived far from the sources of fresh water experienced numerous adverse health conditions such as fatigue, kidney problems, etc. Also, another problem caused by a deficit of fresh water is the diminished work productivity of people.

Moreover, a crucial way to solve this problem is by making and stringently enforcing laws that protect fresh water sources. As an illustration, numerous scientific studies done in UK in 1990s came to the conclusion that when laws that were aimed to protect fresh water were made and implemented, the cases of deterioration of fresh water sources dramatically declined the following years. Another way of preserving fresh water sources if by throwing household waste in places permitted by appropriate government authorities.

In conclusion, decline in fresh water sources is a pressing issue of the 21st century as it is an existential threat to humans. But with adequate government intervention and public awareness this threat can definitely be neutralized.