Large companies should pay higher salaries to CEOs and executives compared to other workers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A company is often organized as a hierarchical structure, with the management and administration of CEOs (or chief executive officers). Hence, some argue that they should receive higher salaries than other ordinary employees. Personally, though serious problems may follow for lack of transparency, this advantage is justifiable and benefits the company as a whole.

The majority of executives are talented themselves. Their promotion is just the product of their own accomplishment, creativity, hard work, and innate capabilities. They also have insightful understanding and unrivalled experience; they master the arts of leadership, negotiation, and resourcefulness. Leading positions, thus, testify to individuals’ long-term attempts, so managers and business administrators deserve higher salary levels. In addition, this compensation encourages run-off-the-mill workers to strive harder and make meaningful contributions to the company. One prime example is Microsoft which aims to attract talent with competitive pay packages, and its link to employee motivation is often through overall high pay, perks, strong performance cultures and clear promotional pathways.

With that being said, preferment, in some cases, is gained in an underhanded way. One corporate, for instance, can be rife with bribery, corruption or sycophancy as many wealthy people want to be promoted. Such dishonesty triggers disaffection among workers, disheartening them from any commitment to work. In the long run, this leads to high turnover rates, with lower productivity and revenue. Thus, from my perspective, bonuses granted to CEOs and executives should be monitored and reasoned clearly. They should be assessed via their actual abilities, hands-on experience, and timely innovations rather than any purely theoretical degrees or unscrupulous rise to management. In doing so, not only managers but also the entire business does benefit.

In conclusion, I maintain that CEOs and executives should be paid more handsome salaries than other employees. Though fierce controversies can take place, they can be settled by unequivocal explanation together with transparent promotional conditions and publicized payroll.