Large companies should pay higher salaries to CEOs and executives compared to other workers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a school of thought that an exceptional salary should be paid for these positions, for example, CEOs and executives. While there is evidence that goes against this opinion, I still agree with it for many compelling reasons.

On the one hand, there are reasons that companies should not pay a lucrative wage for that group of workers. One of the most important reasons is that a more balanced salary among all workers can foster equality in the business. The narrower income gap, for instance, can be considered by the majority that they are recognised equally to other leaders, further improving efficiency. Anyway, this benefit is not compelling enough, since such action can cause a reversal effect. This is because the executive jobs, for instance, involve strategic decisions and thus play a pivotal role in the overall revenue, which is far more important than other positions; however, a just wage cannot depict their importance to the company. Consequently, these people are less engaged in the business’s aim, therefore directly declining the productivity.

On the other hand, there are convincing reasons to support the opinion that paying high salaries for such positions is recommended. First, as mentioned before, their work consists of an overwhelming workload, for example, communicating with shareholders, receiving feedback, and planning for the long-term benefits of the business, which requires a strong mental resilience and profound insights into finance that are not available to most people. Therefore, a lucrative wage is the most reasonable reward to compensate for their efforts and enormous pressure. Furthermore, such rewards can keep these people engaged in the business, as exceptional pay is a form of recognition for their pivotal role, thus stabilizing the overall business revenue.

In conclusion, a fair salary can foster equality among all workers; however, it can be risky to the company’s benefit as pivotal workers are less motivated. Thus, I agree with paying lucrative wages for these people, as such salaries can keep them contributing to the business. By understanding both positive and negative aspects of all actions, employers can make a wise decision to benefit not only their interests but also the workers accompanying to them.