Living in country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

It is common to move to another country that has a different language. There are some arguments that the language barrier is a reason for social and practical issues while living. I do not entirely agree with this statement. In fact, living in a multilingual society has its advantages.

It is undeniable that language plays a crucial role in life. If one is unable to speak the local language, difficulties arise with daily activities such as grocery shopping, navigating transportation, seeking medical attention, or completing legal matters. This also happens in job applications, as most enterprises tend to hire native people because they believe that language problems can create misunderstandings and misinterpretations, which can lead to serious consequences. This is a vital negative factor that directly affects immigrants. All of this struggle not only impacts life standards but also touches on spiritual life. A feeling of isolation is inevitably caused by lacking social interaction, which contributes to mental health issues such as depression and anxiety.

On the other hand, being surrounded by native speakers is a perfect chance for language immersion that one has to be able to speak. Every single circumstance in daily life or expression needs to force the person to represent it in the local tongue, which pushes the person’s inspiration for fluency. This not only enhances foreign language skills but also gives immigrants an opportunity to use their mother tongue as an advantage for applying to language centers teaching that language. By joining a club or workshop that facilitates proficiency in the language, one can contribute to avoiding mental health issues due to effective communication.

Whether the negative social result or the benefits of practicing a new language, if it can be balanced with efforts, resources, and persistence, language differences can be overcome, and some of the severe problems will not be a matter. Instead, the benefits of living in a multilingual society can be enjoyed by all.