Logging of the rainforests is a serious problem and it may lead to the extinction of animal life and human life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, forests are being destroyed by humans which leaded to the extinction of wildlife and human being. From my point of view, I completely agree with the given statement since, cutting down the trees is leading to loss of biodiversity and causing air polution.

Forests are the main source of food and shelter for a wide variety of animals and insects. As soon as forests are being cutted down by human being, animals are forced to leave their home. Consequently, they are not capable of adapting to a new environment and they become vulnerable to new diseases outside of their shelter which lead to death and loss of species. For instance, the logging of the rain forests in Madagascar from 2011, has leaded to the extinction of Madagascar shimpanze and the population of this specie has plunged for 560%. Therefore, deforestation caused by human activities can lead to the death of the population of species who live there.

Logging of the forests not only affect animals negatively, but also human beings by causing air pollution. Quarter of the oxygen in the Earth’s atmosphere is produced by trees. Moreover, trees not only produce oxygen but they also use carbon dioxide to make glucose. As a result, while the forests are being constantly cutted down this is affecting the amount of carbon dioxide and oxygen in the atmosphere. The air pollution happens because of the increased amount of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere, since forests are being destroyed this increases the amount of carbon dioxide in the air, thus causing air pollution. This causes breathing problems and insufficient oxygen uptake by lungs, thus leading to lung diseases. According to the BBC, for the last 50 years, over 34% of all forests in the Earth were cutted down and this increased the amount of carbon dioxide in the air from 0.04 to 1%. Therefore, air pollution arisen from the logging of the trees has a negative effect on well-being of people.

In conclusion, I totally agree that the logging of the trees is causing the loss of biodiversity and causing air pollution which as a result is harmful for individuals. Therefore, it has a negative impact on both humans and wildlife.