Many businesses are using famous people to promote their products. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It has become increasingly common for a number of companies to spend an amount of money inviting celebrities to promote their goods. Although this phenomenon is not without its benefits, such advantages are outweighed by downsides.

On one hand, certain positive impacts of using well-known people to advertise products should be taken into consideration. To begin with, collaborating with renowned figures who have a certain influence in their fans and society is one of the useful means for firms to provide information about products for customers. Therefore, this could allow companies to reach more target consumers, positively contributing to increase in brand image and boosting sales figures. For instance, Son Tung MTP, a famous singer, is one of the Brand Ambassadors of Oppo Electronics Cooperation in Vietnam. He collaborated with this brand to carry out several advertisement campaigns, helping to improve the rate of smartphone purchases and generating huge revenue as well. Furthermore, using the image of notable individuals to sell goods can create several occupations and widen job opportunities. This is true that a number of people who have attained a particular level of fame can have chances to cooperate with local or even international brands to become the representatives to sell items. This can help them earn more money from this work and enhance their image exposure.

On the other hand, this tendency is more detrimental as a whole. Firstly, many enterprises that heavily rely on promoting products through celebrities can incur unnecessary expenses. Specifically, hiring people who are noted is too costly, requiring companies to plan carefully their budget and ensure adequate capital. This can result in an excessive waste of business resources that could be allocated to product research and developing customer service. Secondly, celebrities may not always accurately represent the products they endorse, leading to signing several commitments with companies that often sell low-quality items. This negatively impacts their trustworthiness and could be harmful to customer’s safety and health. As a result, they might lose their popularity and face challenges in sustaining their careers in the long run.

In conclusion, while utilizing famous individuals to sell products brings about certain benefits, I am of the opinion that the merits of this tendency are weightier.