Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

A large number of nations have mandatory military service for just over eighteen years old men, many think that it would be a good path to follow for all countries to introduce this system for both man and women. I believe that it is a bad idea but has also some advantages. In this essay I will provide some reason in order to explain this thought.

On one hand, I think that it is a bad thing because the principle behind is wrong, which is prapare young people to the war. In fact, the nations who adopt this system are the most belligerent, in other words these countries rely on war to solve troubles with others, and since I’m a pacifist this behavior can not be tollerated. Furthermore, the compulsory conscription would distract from the ambitions or working careers the almost every younger have. For example, if a person wants to be a lawyer or a nurse, she or he does not need a military training to be one.

In addition, maintaining the army efficient and operative has high expenditures, this money despite to be spent for a thing aimed to kill people could be spent for hundreds of other things such as health care national system.

Many people think that the obligatory conscription could teach to the youths the discipline that they need to live among people. On the contrary, I think that this kind of discipline is only useful for those who hold the power and give order to their subordinates, like an employer, because it teaches only executing orders.

On the other hand, I think that the compulsory military service could improve into youngsters many survival and physical skills.

In conclusion, due to the argument discussed, I believe that the compulsory miltary system should not be adopted by governments, and they should focus their efforts on better fields than war.