many crimes are often related to the consumption of alcohol . some people think that the best way to reduce crime rate is to banned alcohol. do you think this an effective measure against crime? what other solution can you suggest ?

Considering the soaring juvenile crime rate, people have debated on whether these delinquents should face the same penalties as a grown adult would. This has faced many backlash considering ethical and scientific values. I strongly disagree with this statement and I will further elaborate my points in this essay.

Firstly, punishing young offenders with adult punishments hinders their rehabilitation ability. Not only will they be frowned upon by their peers, they might also be negatively influenced by the harsh circumstances of imprisonment. As a result, they will find it difficult to have another chance in life, leading to possible reoffense, which completely goes against the original purpose of penalties.

Secondly, it is inconsiderate to punish young offenders as it disregards their upbringing circumstances. Most juvenile crime is caused by teenagers suffering from societal pressures, neglect and lack of purpose, which are mostly issues that can be resolved with consideration and sympathy. These offenders should be focused on being counselled, educated and taught skills to reduce the likelihood of reoffending, as most of their actions are still impulsive and lack thought.

Lastly, these penalties can leave severe psychological issues to the juvenile delinquents. The offenders will suffer from post-traumatic stress and depression due to the exposure to negative influences in prison or physical punishments, which can take away years of emotional and social development necessary to ensure a stable adult life. They will not only not recover from the trauma, but they might even develop a twisted outlook on life, which may lead them to reoffend.

In conclusion, implementing adult punishments on juvenile crime is not only inconsiderate to the teenager’s future, but it will leave a long-lasting detrimental effect on their overall mentality. Instead, they should be offered the chance to rehabilitate in order to ensure their opportunity to mature and contribute to society.