Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is quite common that many criminals who have already been pubished repeat to commit crimes. In this essay, I will list out some possible reasons, together with some feasible solutions to resolve this issue.

One of the most direct reason is that the amont of illegal profit criminals gain is much larger than the amount that being charged. Since they can earn a huge amount of money, they are tempted to take the risk of disobeying the law again. Eventually, they are brought to justice and sent to prison for the second time.

Besides, some criminals are unable to make a living for themselves without violating the law. Because they cannot survive in a legal approach, what they can do is to try to loophole the current law, do crimes and finally been punished by the society. Even if they have been punished before, they have no choice but continue to break the regulation merely to earn for their daily spending.

In order to solve the problem, there are several methods. Firstly, government can impose a harsher penalty on those people who try to break the law. If they want to break the law, they will face a strong punishment that will let them pay a large price, which is worthless. Then they are likely not to take the advantage of breaking the law again and this can help to deter crime. Moreover, governments can provide some assistance for them. For example, they can try to expoit their own capability, or provide some tutorials to let them gain one skill so that they can get a job and live as a normal person in society.

Overall, it is the huge profit behind some lawbreaking behavior and the situation that people under unemployment cannot support their daily expense that cause them repeated to commit crimes despite that they have been punished before. Governments can try to diminish such issue by not only imposing a more strict penalty but also giving guidence to those people to help them get a proper job.