Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

Many developing countries worldwide are investing strongly in their tourism industries. There are several reasons behind this phenomenon, and in my opinion, this brings both positive and negative development.

There are two primary benefits of the expansion in travel industries: economic advantages and its potential to bolster international relations. Firstly, the development of tourism leads to the establishment of new businesses and employment opportunities for local residents, thereby contributing to the increase of the country’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP). For example, during the covid 19 pandemic, the decrease in a large number of foreign travelers resulted in the stagnant economy, emphasizing the significant financial impact of tourism. Secondly, travel plays a vital role in fostering international relationships by breaking down cultural gaps. Visitors can experience different customs and cultures throughout a traveling tour, increasing the bond with the local populace.

While the tourism sectors can offer a lot of benefits, it also brings detrimental drawbacks which impact greatly on the environment and local ecosystem. The main disadvantage is that the improvement of tourism contributes to global warming. In particular, several countries of SouthEast Asia are polluted massively because a mountain of waste from vacationers is released into the environment on holidays. As a result, the cumulative process of garbage creates various environmental issues for these countries. Furthermore, tourism industries disrupt significantly the local wildlife and ecosystems. The proliferation of tourism infrastructures lead to a decline in biodiversity as natural landscapes are transformed into tourist attractions.

In conclusion, it is true that investment in tourism yields substantial benefits for the development of a country. However, this also generates many negative consequences if governments inappropriately expand this field.