Many developing countries place a lot of importance on tourism. Why is this? Do you think that this is a positive or negative development?

The tourist field is currently growing in many developing countries. While there are some reasons of this trend, I would argue that expanding tourism is disadvantageous to some extent.

Some nations want to boost their economy basing on stunning landscape assets of their countries and promote cultural heritages through tourism. Firstly, residents will generate turnover from tourists via activities such as food, accommodation, souvenirs, and so on that bring economic gains for this country. Secondly, museum is also a place in which attracting hordes of foreign visitors because they want to learn more about the cultural tradition and identity of the nation. This allows the country to enhance the international visibility of their traditional heritages.

I still believe that it is so negative for thriving countries to foster their tourist sector. The first is that people can be lost their local identity, if they welcome the large number of travelers from different countries around the world because some chefs will adjust the taste of local cuisine to be appropriated to foreign visitors, leading to fading away the traditional smell in the area. Furthermore, environmental pollution is also a problem that governments concern about because of the progress of national tourism. Since there is a huge amount of trashes and emissions at the coastlines, pagodas, museums and entertainment parks, it will exacerbate the environment contamination.

In conclusion, due to the development of economy and expression of domestic culture, some developing countries are gradually fostering the tourist sector. However, there are some disadvantages of this development to cultural tradition and environment.