Many factors motivate people in the workplace. Some people think money is the most important. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the most crucial factor affecting people’s motivation to contribute to the workplace is money. From my perspective, I totally disagree with this assessment, as there are other elements that motivate people, such as career advancement or recognition in the workplace.

The main reason why I believe that money is not the primary working motivation is that it may not correctly reflect the people’s working purpose. While some just want to stay in the safe zone with a stable salary, others decide to get to a higher level of proficiency. To demonstrate, a normal office staff member would be more likely to be hardworking as they know that they can get a promotion to become a department manager who has more power and a higher salary. As a consequence, the desire to get to a higher position may keep them working hard in the workplace.

Having been mentioned in the introduction, another reason for people to be diligent in the workplace is that they can be recognised for their achievements and contributions to the workplace. This is because the happiness that they received from the compliments could boost their confidence;, as a result, they would continue to try their best to dedicate themselves to the business. In addition, the compliments could generate emotional connections between people and the organisations. Therefore, this acts as a means of inspiration for them to maintain their will to sacrifice for the company.

To summarize, I strongly oppose the idea that money drives people’s motivation in the workplace, as career development and the recognition at work seem to be essential.