Many governments in the world spend large amount of money in art which help to improve the quality of people lives. However, government should spend more money on other things rather than arts. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

Governments worldwide invest huge amounts of money in artistic performances and art itself, seeking to improve the life quality of their citizens. Taking into consideration today’s widespread inflation, the collapse of the housing market, and other economic hurdles countries all around the world are facing, one would argue that governments should spend the countries’ revenues on tackling the aforementioned issues. I, however, believe that it is important to invest in culture and offer people alternatives to the harsh reality they are grappling with today.

First and foremost, governments should raise awareness of the importance of art and culture by organizing exhibitions and theatre performances for their citizens. As a result, they will contribute to creating an artistically and culturally literate society. To succeed in their task, it is imperative that they offer these leisure activities at affordable prices. Take, for example, Spain; Spanish government has come up with different ways to promote cultural events among its citizens, especially among youth. More specifically, people under 25 can attend exhibitions in Prado Museum and Reina Sofia Muesum for free; and what’s more, they enjoy at least 50% discount at any national theatre in the country. It comes, therefore, without surprise that the number of young people attending cultural events has increased significantly ever since the government introduced the aforementioned discounts.

Furthermore, by investing money in art, not only do governments foster culturally literate and knowledgeable environment, but they also provide means for people to escape the painful reality of their day-to-day life. Indeed, people need a distraction in face of daily routine, which has become taxing in the recent years due to skyrocketing prices and soaring inflation. Like any great book or a movie, theatres, galleries and museums transport us into a whole other world, albeit briefly, and give us the means to forget our sorrows. Research shows that theatre and other artistic performances create moments of escapism and mindfulness that reduce stress.

In conclusion, governments should invest money into art and consequently foster a culturally and artistically knowledgeable society, as well as offer people a means to escape their daily routine.