Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

After the industrial revolution, humanity stepped into better life. Medicine, demographics, science started improving significantly, but such advancements usually was in big cities. So, people started moving from rural areas to better cities. Now there is a rising problem of lack of land for new buildings in big cities. Governments of such cities suggest that using park land would solve the problem. However, I believe that park is not only important for citizens, but also for ecosystem that lives there. There is a better solution of building cities underground like in Japan or rebuilding old houses.

Firstly, Trees are the “lungs” of the planet. They create oxygen from carbon dioxide, the most vital element for survival of any living entity and in big cities trees appear only in parks. If parks will be reassured for housing, we will lose the main source of vital oxygen. Some megapolises in China are already facing issue of deprived oxygen levels and live with buying oxygen bottles. Oxygen deprivation leads to several health problems, like depression, seizures, mood swings etc. So, if we lose our parks citizens certainly will have health problems associated with lack of oxygen.

Secondly, Parks are home for different animals and plants. For example, the Central Park in Astana is a home for 100 different pine tree species and a pond in its center is filled with fish and marine plants. So, If we use such places with rich flora and fauna for the buildings, we destroy the ecosystem that is living in the parks.

To conclude, it is incorrect to solve land issue by replacing parks with new houses or apartments. As parks are important for both creatures that live there and urban population. Instead, local government should implement other solutions, like building houses underground or rebuilding old houses to houses with increased capacity.