Many museums and historical sites are mainly visted by tourists rather than local people. Why is this? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

In terms of local people’s attendance, museums and historical places have always paled in comparison with other recreational centres. This essay will present some reasons why this has occurred and put forward some solutions to resurrect the interest of local people in visiting these places.

The small and dwindling number of local visitors to museums can firstly be attributable to the low frequency with which activities are held. In other words, the renewals of existing exhibits or the organization of new programs and events are few and far between. For this reason, little interest is aroused in those who had once been to the museum or places of historical significance. Furthermore, museums and historical sites do not come cheap. In fact, to get admission to these places, visitors are often required to pay a substantial amount of money, which can be worth a day’s salary.

In order to drum up more interest of local people in coming to museums, a number of ways can be employed. What can be done first of all is to organise activities which incorporate art performances with appropriate content. This not only encourages the attendance of local people but also represents a great opportunity to educate them about the history of their places of origin. In addition, the authorities can also lower the admission fee or offer discounts to local inhabitants.

To conclude, many reasons can be given as to why local people lose their enthusiasm for museums and places of historical importance. However, the revival of these places is within our grasp should proper actions be taken.