Many museums and historical sites are mainly visted by tourists rather than local people. Why is this? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

Nowadays, not many museums and historical sites attracted the local people only curious tourists come to visit. This essay will be about some valid reasons for this problem, and some effective solutions to appeal more locals.

First of all, lots of museums are visited by tourists because they interesting in the history of the country they visit. They wanted to known how this country developed through years. But for the locals, it is the primary knowledge that they must learned and know. They felt enough and no need to visit any museums or historical sites. Secondly, all locals are domestic people probably choose going to visiting another country’s museums, historical sites over visiting in their own country, because of the same reason as the tourists that be attracted by museums in the country they visit, it is curiosity. Furthermore, there are many things can do at home, online, including visiting places. During the COVID-19 pandemic, lots of travel sites online appeared, it help people reduced their desire of traveling, due to that, local people can use that to see any gallery of history without getting out.

Even though it is hard to convince the domestic people go to their museums and historical sites, there are some answers for this case. One productive way to attracts more citizens is organize as many outdoor activities about history, like instead of make a trip to Dalat or destinations, we can replace with historical sites to make students increase their love for history of their country. This solution may seem boring but it can made succeed, nothing more awesome than knowing history lesson with friends. Another solution is that is encourage the locals to visit those places. Learning history in school is bored to most of students, this may lead them thinking that museums are also the same. We need to prove them wrong by show them what inside historical sites. Students would experienced how marvelous historical artifacts are, they when they came, they would excitedly told their parents about those historical things and asking for a comeback those places. This answers have a similar effect like the first one, made locals love their history more.

Briefly to conclude, to making the number of local people sightseeing museums and local historical sites same as the international visitors can be a hard question to solve, but everything has it solutions.