Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation's history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Some historical buildings are part of country’s history, covered by legal protection. Many individuals believe that they should be taken down and redeveloped into new ones. From my standpoint, I’m convinced that ancient buildings should not be replaced because of their considerable historical value and uniqueness. Moreover, they ought not to be substantiated, even in the name of progress.

There are many reasons that demonstrate the importance of heritage structures and why they should be maintained,Even though some people may not recognize the benefits. First of all, they possess significant historical value, as in some countries these old buildings are the only remaining symbols of the nation’s former glory. For instance, Egypt was one of the greatest nations in human history. However, the only thing that remains from its ancient past are the pyramids. In addition, the pyramids are not only the last remaining historical structure in Egypt, but also one of the sources of income from tourism.

Nowadays people are progressing faster than ever in human history. Nonetheless, this does not mean that old structures have lost their value or should be renewed with modern ones. Since they can occasionally contribute significantly to the country’s income through tourism or alternative sources of revenue. For example, in Egypt currently the pyramids are the most common reason to visit this country. However, if the government decided to replace them with modern buildings, it would not only consume a lot of resources, but also would not generate as much profit as the pyramids do now.

In conclusion, from my point of view, there are many reasons not to replace historically important sites, considering that they are likely the last remnants of the nation’s history and can even generate revenue from visitors.