Many parents go to work in other countries and take family with them. Do the advantages in this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years there has been a huge increase in the number of individuals questioning the merits and demerits of families moving abroad. On the one hand, one key benefit is saving on the costs of living. However a significant drawback is children finding it tough to adapt.

First, there is a point to be made that having two different apartments is more expensive than having one. For example, in the United States the average rent for a single-room bedroom is 3000 dollars, which is almost a whole average salary. For this reason, it is evident that it is not affordable to move alone to another nation because people do not earn much more money. Moreover, children can experience a different culture and because of that they can have more knowledge and be better adapted to adults’ lives. This being the case, if the whole family did not move abroad, their standard of living would not improve.

Nonetheless, it must be stated that children often have problems with adapting to new places. For example, numerous studies have shown that children, whose parents moved away a lot, even as adults have difficulties maintaining friendships. Therefore, it is clear that moving away a whole family can result in many consequences like loneliness or shyness, which can lead to many mental diseases like depression. Furthermore, moving to a different country can often be connected with learning a new language, which can be very difficult for many members of a family because learning languages often needs many hours of practice which is hard while studying or working. With this in mind, if parents decided to move their family away, it could lead to serious consequences for children.

To conclude, while some feel that taking their family to another country to work is beneficial, others, myself included, firmly believe the opposite. From my perspective, the pros do not outweigh the cons, as health is more important then earning a lot of money.