Many parents put a lot of pressure on their children to succeed. To what extent do you agree?

As time goes on, students are constantly faced with pressure from their parents to do well in life. Although I agree that kids should be pressured to an extent, I also believe that it is also important to respect the well-being of the children.

Exerting pressure on children is a great way to keep children on task and keep on working. Most children do not have the required motivation to achieve their goals. However, putting pressure on children encourages them to fulfill their desires and work for their aspirations. Being pressurized by parents creates a sense of accountability. This is because the offspring are constantly under supervision, by their guardians so they have to stay on top of their tasks.

However, I do not fully agree with putting loads of pressure on children to succeed because of the mental toll that it puts on the teens and pre-teens. People under the age of 18 already face a great workload from teachers. On top of that, it is also crucial for them to maintain a social life with their peers. Having additional pressure from mom and dad makes it hard for students to balance all the stress. As a result, the extra pressure could lead to mental and emotional breakdown, and therefore not letting the child grow in a very supportive environment.

In conclusion, I firmly affirm that there should be a balance between putting pressure on children to succeed. Although it is vital to put pressure on children to succeed, it is also important to value the mental health of the students.