Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? What are solutions to change negative attitudes?

Natives of different countries state that the tourism industry negatively affects their motherland. The reasons of suspicion towards foreigners are the increasing level of crime and damage to culture heritage and nature environment. These issues may be solved with the developing of security services and honest declarations of the income from tourism sector, which will proves the benefits from this industry.

One of the greatest problems related to tourism is a growing crime rate. The foreigner tourists are frequent targets of pickpocketers and thieves, however, the ordinary citizens are also become victims. Due to this fact, people start to think that the possible reason of crime rises is international visitors. According to a recent research by HSE scientists, the number of calls to police in Novgorod has risen twice since the moment of opening new sightseeings. The solution of this problem is the developing of country’s police forces. More officers will be able to help both tourists and locals.

The next but not the last common reason of negative attitude toward foreigner tourists is the impact on environment. Some of tourists believe that they are able to leave trash after outside parties, draw on the walls of cathedrals or do not respect local beliefs. For instance, the protests against the tourists on one of the mountain in Japan were the headlines of papers. This mountain was sacred for inhabitants, however, the visitors damaged the mountain forest by causing fire during camping. To tackle this issue, the government is able to show citizens that most of tourists invest their money during the trip in the developing of the country. If the access to the reports about tourism money will be available publicly, the communities will be understand the significance of foreign visitors.

In conclusion, the frequent reasons of suspicious attitude of inhabitants are the decreasing of security and negative consequences of tourists behaviour in the country. Although, these problems are possible to be regulated by the rise in number of police officers and honest distribution and usage of income from tourism.