Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in their hometown. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

More and more people decide to travel abroad to acquire a foreign language instead of staying and studying in their hometown. While broadening their knowledge and worldview is the primary benefit, challenges they can face are the main drawbacks.

Going to a foreign country and learning a new language can enlarge people’s worldview and general knowledge. Individuals are able to search for and obtain information about countries online. However, this experience is limited in some point and observing them firsthand is much more effective way to acquire information. As a result, many people want to trip to other countries and learn a foreign language. Being tourist without knowing language is being like a guest. Local people behave differently; however, when individuals know the language even in a low level, with communicating they can learn much more information than expected. They not only will have a sincere and breathtaking travel, but also can be a part of local’s culture. For instance, some people try to learn local people’s language before travelling for having more fun and experiencing entertaining and quality time.

However, problems they encounter can be serious issues. People are a part of community in their hometown; however, after moving to another country for travel can make them feel discriminated and alone. Not all societies accept foreigners easily and this can lead to homesickness. Person’s aim for visiting the country is generally spending good and quality time, as a consequence, not reaching this goal can make them upset and even they can lose their passion. Therefore, not achieving purpose that they imagined can ruin their plans. For example, some people report that after traveling to particular countries they became depressed because of homesickness feeling.

In conclusion, some individuals visit another country for learning new language. While enlargement of worldview and general information is the main merit, issues like confusing feelings including homesickness and being isolated can be the key disadvantages.