Many people say that music plays an important role in society while others think it is simply a form of entertainment for individuals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

On the one hand, since hundreds of years ago, music has indeed been a way of entertainment. There’s lots of advantages of music entertainment that not only can bring us happiness and calm, but temporarily escape the pressures of life, perhaps can bring us better mental health. Furthermore, in Taiwan, there are more than hundreds of music performances during a year, which proves that some people truly enjoy music entertainment. For example, I will be extremely grateful if I have a chance to go to a classical concert, such as an orchestra performance and piano recital. Which allows me to impress in the atmosphere of music, and forget all the Antipathy. In short, music entertainment could allow better mental health, and bring us happiness.

On the other hand, music is not only a way of entertainment, which also shows the history and value of a culture. Alternatively stated, music is one of the most important parts of showing a culture. Moreover, some communities will use music to pass on the history, legend, and their tradition. Therefore, music has a deeper social meaning beyond entertainment. It can promote unity, and has a potential of expressing emotion that words alone can’t. For example, since I was a baby, my mom has been singing the storytelling songs of our culture. As a result, I know many traditional stories and legends from my community, which helps me clearly understand and identify who I am. Finally, music shows the history and value of a culture that words alone couldn’t express.

In summary, although music is a way of entertainment that allows us better mental health, it brings more meaning and value than we can imagine. In my own interpretation, music influences more than a way of entertainment. Hence, one agrees that music plays an important role in society.