Many people say that universities should only offer places to young student with the highest marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well at school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays numerous people argue about diverse aspects of higher education. Firstly, there is an oppinion that only successful pupils should enter the university. Secondly, from another perspective not only academic performance, but also age is not a selection requirement. Personally, I suppose that good marks cannot be a crucial criterion. However, at the same time I’m not sure that it’s a great idea to ensure people of all ages to acquire higher education. So, in this essay I will try to consider both and my own opinion.

As for the first statement, I cannot agree. The point is that marks don’t reflect talents and capacities of a particular person. There is a wide range of subjects at school, that’s why it can be difficult to do well in all of them. But even studying badly at school, one can choose a program at university, which will be a one’s real passion. In this case a student is likely to succeed and become a qualified professional. For example, my brother did poorly in school but graduated from law university with honors. But if he hadn’t been allowed to study, he wouldn’t be a lawyer now.

Also, I either don’t agree with the second opinion. I believe that young people are not ready to attend higher education courses till about seventeen years old, because the workload at university can be physically very challenging. Although as for the upper age limit, I agree that it shouldn’t be set. I consider that mature and elderly people should also have the opportunity for self-development. For example, in Italy, a student graduated from university at the age of 96.

To sum up, I’d like to say that it would be better if educational institutions paid more attention to the individual characteristics of students instead of imposing strange restrictions for admission.