Many people think that zoos are cruel. Others think they are helpful in protecting rare animals. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Zoos were made to bring wildlife closer to humans. Some people argue that zoos help to preserve wild creatures, while others say that they are inhumane and should be abolished. I believe that the poor conditions that many animals held in capitivity are kept in make the existence of zoos unacceptable.

On the one hand, there are many projects in existence in zoological parks around the world where species faving extinction have been successfully bred in captivity and their numbers increased substantially. This is important for ensuring the survival of animals under threat from poaching and the destruction of their natural environments. A good example of this is the golden lion tamarin from brazil which nearly died out because of logging and mining activities which are destroying its habitat. Today, a third of wild golden lion tamarins were raised in captivity

On the other hand, a significant percentage of zoos house their animals in cramped cages with very little space to move around or behave naturally. This can lead them becoming distressed and depressed as well as suffering physically through lack of excercise. a friend of mine recently visited a wild life park while on holiday abroad and was very upset to see the lions pacing up and downs in a narrow, bare pen and eagles in enclosures that were so small that they were unable to fly.

In conclusion, although zoos do help to safeguard particular species, the suffering experienced by many captive creatures due to unsuitable living conditions amounts to cruelty and they should not be allowed to exist.