"Many students choose to pursue their higher education in a foreign country rather than studying in their home nation. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?"

A substantial number of undergraduates decide pursue a higher degree in a different country rather than studying at their homeland. While i do believe that getting taught in a foreign country can have a positive outcome due to the different environment and the quality of teaching and campus in said college abroad, yet there are some negative sides to it like lose of connection and mental health risks.

International studying has many advantageous benefits in that it helps students in their future lives by building connections and receiving better education quality. Furthermore, when universities accepts students from around the globe it opens opportunities for the students to explore different majors and broaden their views in acquiring knowledge and teaching by highly intellectual professors. A prime example of this is a study shows that master degree holders have a higher percentage for landing a prestigious job more than others due to the experience of being abroad and carrying valuable knowledge. As a result, those who dedicate their live in pursuing an academic degree abroad have a much a better chance in securing higher and safer careers than others.

On the other hand, international studying carry an equal amounts of downsides due to the nature of being far away from the country and it’s culture or being far from relatives. Moreover, individuals who embark on this journey of chasing a degree outside their borders might be met with a cultural shock or loneliness suffering or exacerbating already present mental health issues if they are not ready or have a background about what is awaiting them on the other side. For instance, a significant number of people who study abroad face a lot of mental difficulties due to juggling rent or staying on schedule for their lectures making it really challenging to function normally due to anxiety and depression. Consequently, students who study internationally come across sudden health issues and with no one close to help them it becomes notably worse.

In conclusion students who look forward to study in a different institution are met with great benefits that are both long term and short term, while on the other hand there’s a chance they might face many hardships either emotionally or physically due to the contrast of society and norms there.