"Many students choose to pursue their higher education in a foreign country rather than studying in their home nation. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?"

These day, a greater number of students choose to pursue higher education overseas. From my perspective, the drawbacks of this trend outweigh its positives, as the cost of living in other countries is usually expensive and living far away from their families and friends can cause a sense of loneliness among overseas students.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that following higher education in other countries offers students greater job opportunities. As the job market in foreign countries is usually large-scale with a variety of vacant positions, students can easily find a job after graduation in these countries. Moreover, they can also gain access to an innovative education system with many hands-on educational activities and comprehensive curriculums in international universities, allowing them to participate in and consequently improve their academic results. For example, most leading companies require their applicants to have an excellent resume with hands-on experiences because this exposure can reflect their life skills such as communication, problem solving or teamwork. This engagement, therefore, serves as a passport to a well-paid job.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that students may incur a higher cost of living and a sense of loneliness when pursuing tertiary education in foreign nations. Granted, when studying in another country, students have to cover various fees such as housing, food and transport independently. This self-sufficiency can put a financial burden on themselves if they are not financially supported by their parents. Moreover, tuition fees in foreign schools are often higher than that of national schools, leading to enormous economic pressure for students and their families as a whole. Additionally, living far away from families can result in a sense of alienation among students. Because they have to live in an unfamiliar environment, they have no one to confide in when being under stress. This isolation can lead to anxiety and psychological pressure in the long term.

In conclusion, while acknowledging undertaking tertiary education in overseas countries brings enormous job prospects and better educational programs, I firmly agree that the drawbacks of this trend exceed its benefits due to the substantial tuition fees and a higher risk of alienation.