Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, stores are starting to sell more foreign goods than their own. There are two reasons why it is happening, and I believe that the advantages of this outweigh its drawbacks.

Today, many countries exchange distinct products with each other to satisfy their citizens. In huge countries like U.S.A., where hundreds of different nationalities are currently leaving, it is essential to ensure their residents with different types of food because not every person is able to get used to eating the local cuisine. Also, it all depends on the quality of the foreign goods. Sometimes imported products might turn out to be more prioritized and better for citizens, so that supermarkets will buy and sell a particular product more frequently just to earn more.

In my opinion, this is convenient when a person can choose absolutely any product he wants, despite the country in which it was made. First of all, this is crucial for human rights because a person, knowing that he can offer himself or herself anything, will definitely be happier. People would not like the suspension of a particular product to occur only because it does not allow local businesses to develop. Citizens just want to enjoy their favorite goods. Also, having big numbers of foreign products will display that the country is friendly to others and it is ready to collaborate.

In conclusion, there is a couple of causes that contribute to supermarkets to sell more imported products, but I think that it is not a negative development.