Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s fast-paced world, importing foreign- produced products is common among supermarket owners, they prefer selling these sorts of products rather than locally planted ones. In my opinion, despite some advantages, the overall impact of the trend is negative.

In recent years, supermarket shelves are fulled with foreign commodities, and I think it is a bad development. Excessive reliance on foreign goods leads to resentment amongst peasants. They might protest strike because products that they cultivate is not high in demand. It may result in devastating consequences , such as increasing arid areas. In other words, abandoned areas by peasants become useless for growing new crops. Another downside of this development is that If a country becomes dependent on other countries’ items, this country can not boost its economy, could fail to introducu country’s local goods to the world.

Nevertheless, I must mention desirable sides of this phenomenon. Even though foreign goods are available in county itself, some imported products can not be found in the country. Likewise, in my country, citizens often buy foreign chocolates, citrus fruit. Moreover, some citizens of my country believe that our domestic products do not meet criteria. For instance, transcribed videos of making ice-creams in an untidy way went viral several times. Some people say that our local foods have lost its credibility. However, we do not see such videos of foreign items.

Nevertheless, other problems of selling imported products are their delivery responsibilities, its quality of product. Transportation could be a major burden . When products are delivered from other countries, even within country it is hard to maintain them in a good way. Even, sometimes delayed deliveries cause foreign foods to expire before reaching consumers.

To conclude, I acknowledge the benefits of imported products are their popularity or variety, it is essential to prioritize locally sourced food to support the economy and sustainability.