Many university students want to learn about different subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others feel it is important to give all their time and attention to studying for their qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is sometimes argued that some university students desire to study other subjects together with their main subjects. Meanwhile, other opinions advise students to dedicate all of their time to their major only. I partially agree with this notion due to the fact that students should be given an opportunity to explore other fields but also should give their effort to their qualifications.

On the one hand, learning other subjects will allow students to gain more knowledge about different fields. This makes them more knowledgeable and multi-tasking, also, they will be able to apply these new skills into their work later. For example, hospitality students who learn an additional minor course about business can have the skills and knowledge to run and manage their own restaurants in the future. Another benefit is that this can really help students who do not have a clear dream career in their mind, to figure out what might interest them and have an opportunity to switch before they graduate.

On the other hand, studying many subjects in addition to the major can cause a vital distraction to students. Obviously, students have very limited time in a semester for all of the subjects, including their main ones and additional ones. They might not have enough time and effort to dedicate to their main subjects, having to do other assignments and projects. This potentially will result in a drop in their GPA, making it harder for them to graduate or to find a way to post-graduate education in the future. Therefore, a focus on their own major is much needed to develop the necessary skills for their qualification without being distracted by other irrelevant subjects.

In conclusion, while learning about other subjects helps students broaden their horizons and might find new opportunities, it is also crucial to focus on their major and get the most out of their qualifications. I am of the opinion that students should be given the opportunity to learn more but not too much so that they will not be distracted.