Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel.The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most people believe that taking a year off might ruin young people’s lives for the reason that they will stop learning and become lazy instead. Nevertheless, I strongly agree with the idea that teenagers should consider gap year.

Firstly, based on my experience as a grade 12 student, it is hard to know what we want to do in the future. In my opinion, the step to university is the big step for success and that puts a lot of pressure on my shoulders. I believe that if we take a gap year, it will help us understand the thing we want to achieve in the next 5 years, and help us to ensure our path.

Second, these days, our education might not include the variety of paths that we could become, and that is really hard to pick for our future and might be too much pressure to go after graduating from high school. I think that taking a break to relax your thoughts and gain the experiences from gap year might show us a real world that we miss during high school time.

In conclusion, I believe that taking a break before going to university gives us time to consider the right ways for ourselves and a year off will help us relieve some stress during hard times in school. In addition, for the reason that we will have a time to take a break after a long years of learning to gain real experiences, this will benefit us in the long run.