Marriages are becoming bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is the case? Is it positive or negative development?

Nowadays marriages are getting more larger and costing much more money than in the past. This phenomenon has many reasons that lead to, and in my opinion this is a negative development which may result in many issues.

To begin with, there are many reasons that weddings are getting huge and for paying more money in them these days. Firstly, people’s relations are getting bigger every year. Evidence tells that, people usually make new friends every year and get to know new colleagues after every promotion they get. Therefore, people might invite more people to their weddings, resulting in making them getting massive. Secondly, not only does inviting more people to weddings make them more expensive, but there are also numerous trends that often affect our lives. Most people want to make these trend in their wedding, and most of these trends are luxurious and costly. However, in the past, weddings were much more simple than today’s and people’s connections were less than these days. As a result, marriages were smaller and cheaper than these days’.

Furthermore, it seems to me that there are many serious problems that can be resulted from this negative situation. One critical problem could be that it can make getting married so hard for the youth. Today’s trends make youngsters’ expectations get higher that it should be. This may lead to making them spend more money on their weddings to cope with trends. Another problem might be that spending more money on wedding often result in struggles within families, as newlywedss family usually pays the more money on weddings to help their children getting married.

In conclusion, I would argue that making marriages bigger and expensive, which has many reasons, is detrimental, and it could lead to consequences, making marriages hard for the young.