More and more measures to improve the security in large urban areas have been introduced in many countries because of the increased crime. Do the benefits of these measures outweigh the drawbacks?

Some metropolis regions have introduced many measures to minimize crime rates. Although it may pose some monetary challenges for the government, I believe the benefits it creates overwhelm the drawbacks due to the reasons I will explain below.

On the one hand, increasing security measures can bring about tremendous advantages for city dwellers’ safety. First of all, people would be afraid of committing crimes due to the high potential of being caught by the guards or policemen, followed by imprisonment or severe financial punishments. For example, in Germany, as a recent statistic, the crime rates in Frankfurt have witnessed a significant decline at about 50% when the government assigned more policemen to several streets with a high rate of crimes taking place. Additionally, when civilians are well-protected, especially at night, they will feel comfortable doing extra work in the offices or freely diving into recreational activities that would make their lives more fulfilling.

On the other hand, there is also a drawback when the authorities implement stricter security laws. To be more specific, the government has to invest more money to put these security measures into action. Firstly, there will be more extra payment for policemen and guards to work overnight, or even for the hire of an additional workforce to fully cover the security of tremendous regions in some cities. Furthermore, the policemen must be trained professionally to survive when facing the criminals in the most dangerous circumstances. Therefore, the government has to set up specialized classes for this harsh mission which can contribute to further expenses spent on hiring experts and facilities for an optimal study environment. As a result, the national funding could be limited when investing in other social welfare such as education and healthcare systems.

In conclusion, although taking security measures can cause a financial burden on the government, its enormous advantage for civilians is undeniable.