More and more people nowadays are living in mega-cities: cities with more than 20 million people. Is it positive or negative development?

Scientific reports indicate that the figure of dwellers living in megapolises is rapidly surging. From my point of view, while I acknowledge this trend is a double-edged sword, I believe the overall effect is mixed and based on how cities are managed.

On the positive side, Megapolis offers better career opportunities and access to services. When business and workers gather all at one place, the economy tends to increase. Additionally, citizens can get access to more up-to-date infrastructures, namely universities, central ambulances and public transport compared to those in rural areas. For example, a person moving from the countryside can seek greater possibilities of job and healthcare options.

On the other hand, if authorities can’t execute well-balanced executives, overpopulation is inevitable. As the price of housing rises rapidly, it may force citizens to live in an overcrowded state or poor conditions. Traffic congestion is another major issue, as the road cannot keep up with a huge flow of vehicles, causing many hours of delay. Furthermore, the level of pollution in those megacities tends to be extremely high. Consequently, it directly impacts dweller’s health, especially asthma patients. For instance, metropolises like Beijing and Delhi are the prime examples where the atmosphere quality has become a major public concern.

In conclusion, while megacities provide undebatable advantages such as improved living conditions and economic merits, they also bring various difficulties such as pollution, traffic jams and overcrowding. I firmly believe that whether this trend is positive or negative depends heavily on the way government balances planning and investing wisely to improve individuals’ well-being.