Most countries believe taht international tourism has harmful effect. Why do they think so? How to change their views?

In many nations in the world, tourism is often blamed for causing significant negative consequences. This essay would explore the reasons behind such concerns and propose practical solutions to address them.

On the one hand, traveling among countries has several problematic implications that have a profound negative impact on the world. Firstly, due to many international tourists, travel destinations have to suffer from a huge amount of waste increasingly consumed which pollutes and contaminates their nature. For example, thousands of plastic bags, cans, and bottles are discarded daily along the coastline and even inside the oceans, endangering marine life such as turtles and whales. Furthermore, international travel is also an implicit risk of disease outbreaks, threatening human existence. During the Covid 19 pandemic, most cases of Coronavirus were community transfer, then they resulted in millions of deaths and led to an increase in mortality rate in the world.

On the other hand, there are numerous efficient measures that can mitigate these issues and promote sustainable tourism. Setting a strict punishment for littering casually for all is an essential thing that should be implemented by governments. Then, individuals would have to be more careful in throwing rubbish to avoid being punished by law; thus, misbehaviors would be fined and strictly controlled. Besides, due to welcoming a great deal of international tourists, big cities and attractive destinations should build more hospitals to help address the risk of disease outbreaks. Because of the addition of medical institutions, many patients who carry the virus would be able to be isolated and treated immediately; thus, the danger of infection would also be alleviated, then it could not spread as an expansion.

In conclusion, despite posing harmful effects, from my perspective, I think that if these issues were managed effectively, individuals’ view of global travel would no longer be one-sided and tourism would continue to benefit both travelers and host nations.