Most people today are overweight than ever before. What are the primary causes of this? What measures can be taken to overcome this epidemic?

It has been widely acknowledged that people are prone to obesity more than ever before. This essay will first demonstrate the underlying reasons for this disconcerting trend and suggest that individuals and the government assume the responsibility for wholly tackle this issue.

A variety of factors have contributed to the increasing rate of obesity, all of which can be attributed to people’s life changes. To begin with, those with higher necessities demand that people have to spend more working hours to respond. This causes residents to have a hectic work schedule and absent participation in sporting activities such as swimming and walking, resulting in a sedentary lifestyle and lead to overweight. Since such a hectic schedule has also triggered individuals not have time to carry out home-cooked food, combined with the prevalence of junk food and processed food, people are inclined to opt for pre-made dishes, becoming widely available and inexpensive as well as containing lots of calories. The result of excessive consumption of high-calorie foods is a society with epidemic levels of weight problems.

Mitigating the aforementioned challenges requires a multifaceted approach that combines policy reforms and other collaborative endeavors. On the governmental level, a higher tax, should be levied on fast food. Tax hikes entail a surge in the prices of junk food,breeding people less likely to consum junk food and replaced by more healthier food. Some campaigns, counseling and community services also act as catalysts in to educating people about far-reaching consequences of rapid weight gain like cardiovascular and diabetes. However, such initiatives would be ineffective or even futile without individuals taking actions simultaneously. Each individual needs to work out regularly, raise awareness and follow a balanced diet.