Now many people have seriously increased the use of artificial intelligence. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The proliferation of artificial intelligence (AI) is seen to have a significant impact upon the workplace in terms of job roles, where a pivotal advantage is the reduction of process redundancies. However, there is an inherent cost in terms of employment opportunities associated with the growth of artificial intelligence. This essay will aim to highlight the benefits as well as the drawbacks of the utilization of artificial intelligence upon employment.

Machine learning which is an element of artificial intelligence can effectively minimize process redundancies where repetitive tasks can be eliminated, resulting in employed staff being utilized for more complex and meaningful tasks. For example, an artificial intelligence powered chat bot in a customer service department can learn repetitive questions and answers, can serve the users and release the department staff to attend to complex scenarios. This example being one of many advantages of artificial intelligence, clearly highlights the employment enrichment provided by AI.

On the other hand, a reduction in job opportunities directly correlates with the rise in the use of artificial intelligence. The advancements of the technology that has reached the creativity realm can now produce cutting edge audio visual media eliminating the need for creative directors, animators, and even actors. A recent news article published in Sri Lanka, highlighted that the use of such AI technologies has resulted in a twenty one percent reduction in employment opportunities in the media field.

In conclusion, it is clear that the rise in the utilization of artificial intelligence technologies correlate directly with employment aspects where positive developments such as the reduction of menial tasks are seen, while there are obvious negative implications such as the loss of employment opportunities.