Nowadays, as a part of educational process, students work at a company for a short period of time without pay. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Most universities consider a course considered as internship for some fields which is a period of unpaid working for a related company. Although this obligation comes with many possitive effects for students such as, learning the differents between theorical concepts and practical ones which are in use, it may have some downsides. In this essay I shall express the advantages and disadvantages and my reasons why I considers this internship significantly useful.

Working as an mandatory part of studying in a university benefits the undergrads. In this period they can learn how industries make use of science to reach a usable product. As a mater of fact, many students cannot relate how their studies in academic fields are important; hence, while they are interns for companies and factories they can comprehend the usage of theories. Additionaly, as they are working in companies they can make connections with successful individuals who are in the same field; so not only these newbies can learn how they have launched their businsses, but also they can make use of these relationships when they started working. For example, while choosing employees, employers chose the ones who they already know with higher probabilities.

Nevertheless, while students can do part-time paid jobs, spending time to do a work which does not come with a salary may not be their desires. Many of these pupils work to pay their bills and expensive tuitions; therefore, working for several months without being paid can put them in economical pressure. Moreover, even if they do not have to pay rent and universities fees, they may find it pointless to work in a place while not earning money. It may cause loosing interest in working and not paying enough attention; thus, this period may be not efficient for them because they do not have learned enough.

To conclude, despite not gaining any money can lead to loosing intreset, this period of obligatory work can be beneficial due to learning useful concepts in course of working and also getting to know successful people in the same filed of studing.