Nowadays, as a part of educational process, students work at a company for a short period of time without pay. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Most universities consider a course as an internship for some fields, which is a period of unpaid work for a related company. Although this obligation comes with many positive effects for students, such as learning the differences between theoretical concepts and practical ones in use, it may have some downsides. In this essay, I shall express the advantages and disadvantages and my reasons why I consider this internship significantly useful.

Working as a mandatory part of studying in a university benefits undergraduates. In this period, they can learn how industries use science to reach a usable product. As a matter of fact, many students cannot relate how their studies in academic fields are important; hence, while they are interns for companies and factories, they can comprehend the usage of theories. Additionally, as they are working in companies, they can make connections with successful individuals who are in the same field; so, not only can these newbies learn how they have launched their businesses, but also they can make use of these relationships when they start working. For example, when choosing employees, employers choose those whom they already know with higher probabilities.

Nevertheless, while students can do part-time paid jobs, spending time doing work that does not come with a salary may not be their desire. Many of these students work to pay their bills and expensive tuition; therefore, working for several months without being paid can put them under economic pressure. Moreover, even if they do not have to pay rent and university fees, they may find it pointless to work in a place without earning money. It may cause loss of interest in working and not paying enough attention; thus, this period may not be efficient for them because they may not have learned enough.

To conclude, despite not gaining any money, which can lead to loss of interest, this period of obligatory work can be beneficial due to learning useful concepts in the course of working and also getting to know successful people in the same field of study.