Nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time being active or creative. What is the reason for this? What measures should be taken to encourage children to be more active?

Undeniably, these days children prefer to watch television more than the past generations. This can affect their creativity in a bad way and reduces the amount of time they are active. Despite the fact that some would argue that the current situation can be helpful to them, for instance, it is a way to teach them lessons they need, I believe this is a problem threatening their lives and should be tackled.

The reason that children tend to watch TV more than ever before can be the variety of shows that are presented today. In my opinion, in past years, the number of channels presenting kids shows were fewer and children had plenty of time playing with their peers outside their homes. Today there are a lot of shows for young age people and this can make them feel needless from outdoor activities.

One possible approach would be for governments to increase the time that children spend in schools, so as much as they are outside with their classmates, the less time is left for them to spend in home watching TV. This also helps them to do activities that are controlled by their teachers and declines the chance of any danger that threats them because they are in a safe place.

A more feasible approach would be for parents to control how their children are spending their time. Parents can consider diverse plans for their children like planning a trip or enrolling them into swimming class. In this way, they are leading their children to make an efficient use of their time and helping their creativity.

In conclusion, I believe that children are too young to understand the drawbacks of watching TV for a long time, and they should be helped by the elderly in order to address the problems that can be caused by being less active.