Nowadays it is easier for young people to have credit cards compared to past. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh disadvantage

More and more of the youthful population get and use credit cards at present. It can greatly impact their life conditions and help in some unpredictable situations. However, not everyone learns something from having a credit card. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this practice outweigh the benefits.

On the one hand, there are some basic advantages. First of all, young people can afford some new items and services for themselves without saving money for a long period. Sometimes youthful people do not have an opportunity to buy something unusual for them because they have money only for basic things like paying bills for water, accommodation, or buying some food, and most of the young population want a treat. They want to get great emotions by having expensive or uncommon items. Secondly, there can be some situations that nobody can predict. For instance, somebody can get sick with a really serious disease or get in an accident. In that situation, young people just have to use credits because not each of them can afford these bills.

On the other hand, despite the advantages above, there are some potentially dangerous problems with the youthful population paying by credit cards. One drawback is that not everybody understands the cost of money. Some young people without any experience with spending money can overspend credit money, and also most of these people do not know the difficulty of returning it; because of it, the young population can get stuck in situations with many credits and without an opportunity to close them at all. Some of them can take more credit to close previous ones. This process can be unstoppable. After that, young people can get into trouble with the law. Another disadvantage is that there can be high-interest rates. Most of the youthful population do not understand what it means at all, so they will have some problems with banks.

To sum up, using credit cards by young people has both benefits and drawbacks. I firmly believe that the disadvantages for this trend far outweigh the potential improvement of youthful people’s lives.