Nowadays, large shopping centers and supermarkets are more common than small local shops. Is this a negative or positive development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Large shopping centres and supermarkets are dominating small local shops today than in the past. I agree that this is a positive development, and this essay will detail the reasons for my stance.

Small local shops offer several benefits to the consumers. Firstly, they are an excellent place of market for people of all income. Unlike large shops such as malls, which are usually frequented by wealthy individuals, small shops provide an opportunity for individuals of lower income to engage with the market. Additionally, they present a friendly environment for socially phobic individuals. These places do not become overcrowded, which can be a triggering factor for anxiety attacks. Thus a safe place for these people

However, supermarkets and larger shops present a variety of items to the consumers. As a result, customers get whatever they want in one place, and consequently save time in shopping. Again, these shops provide employment. The place is big and requires individuals whom buyers will consult for directions and other assistance as well as accountants and securities to watch the monetary aspects and in maintaining order, respectively. This leads to job opportunities and wages for individuals employed in these roles. To illustrate, my friend was a security guard at a Alex mall in Ghana, and he was able to send remittances home. Moreover, they serve as a place where people take pictures because of their attractively decorated surroundings. These pictures are normally posted on social media platforms, enhancing the enjoyment for these individuals.

To conclude, although small shops offer some benefits, I believe large shops and supermarkets are more advantageous as they provide a variety of items to consumers as well as employment to others.