Nowadays many medical research projects are funded by private companies. In your opinion, do you think that research should be carried by private companies or individuals or governments?

The current development that multiple medical research projects are carried out by private companies is an ongoing trend which needs to be critically discussed. In this essay I am going to argue and state my opinion that these medical researches should not be financed by private companies, while addressing boaths sides.

Some people may argue that due to the lack of funding for medical research projects, it could be a good idea to get funding from external firms. It is widely known that the government or universities have a shortage of monetary resources to fund specific studies. However, this may lead to the fact that various projects needs to be cancelled. One way to solve this issue could be through private companies or individuals who can fund these projects.

On the other side, this could be followed by serious disadvantages. I believe that research carried out by individuals or private companies encourage a dependency of science from private interests. Using an example, a pharmacy company is funding research about one specific medicament which is also produced by this company. The researchers are not able to work independently anymore due to monetary needs. Therefore, the scientists would only produce work which satisfy the funders and the integrity of the project is erased. This leads me to the conclusion that only universities or the government should be eligible to support medical research projects.

To summarize, one could argue that due to the lack of money available for some research, private companies or individuals should carry out scientific projects. Moreover, I am holding the opinion that this job should be left to governments because of transparency and independency.