Nowadays, many people communicate using social media and the Internet on a daily basis. However, this has led to an increase in online attacks and cyberbullying. What are some of the reasons why people take part in cyberbullying?

In the digital era, the pervasive use of social networking has revolutionized the way people communicate, and connect on the Internet. Nevertheless, it has also given rise to an anxious trend of cyber harassment, causing a bunch of negative effects on mental and physical health for people who have the burden of these criticisms.

First, emotional issues could serve as a prominent catalyst for individuals to participate in deverse online interactions. To specific, those who engage in online attacks may be undergoing a multitude of emotions such as boredom, and anger. Therefore, bullies use their accounts to repeatedly tease or make fun of online ones to satisfy their feelings through comments, and messages on all their social networking. Moreover, jealousy is one of the emotional factors, contributing to online attacks on the Internet, as they cannot have the things others achieve. They make an effort to spread rumors, post unflattering pictures or videos, and say rude things about people who are more successful than them in order to make others suspicious of these individuals at the expense of recognizing and learning about their accomplishments to enhance themselves.

Second, numerous people believe that they are safe in the online space. Specifically, they are able to use anonymous accounts to perform social platforms because they believe that no one will know them and could not do anything to them. This creates a sense of irresponsibility and creates high confidence in one’s actions, leading to the reinforcement of the perpetration of online violent behaviors. Consequently, individuals who engage in online intimidation may easily dismiss ethical considerations and social norms, resorting to violent activities on the Internet by verbal on online medium. In 2021, a woman adolescent living in China was suicide after six months of exacerbated depression due to the wave of malicious criticism from cyberbullies as typical examples for this phenomenon.

In conclusion, while social media provides a variety of convenience in many aspects of human life, it is vital to remain cautious of potential drawbacks such as online attacks and cyberbullying to create a safer and more inclusive online environment for all.