Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep.What problems can lack of sleep cause?What can be done about lack of sleep?

Lack of sleep has become a prevalent issue in modern society these days. While sleep deprivation has side effects on our overall well-being, memory, and concentration, wise time management and avoiding the use of gadgets and technologies at night can be appropriate cures to this problem.

To begin with, there are some negative effects of not getting a good night’s sleep. First and foremost, the overwhelming majority of people work more than 10 hours a day. As a result, they feel exhausted, and it can lead to an increased risk of blood pressure and cardiovascular diseases due to fatigue. For example, more than a third of American adults are unable to get enough sleep, and it results in decreased concentration on daily tasks and decreased productivity at work. In addition to this, sleep-deprived people have difficulties in recalling and remembering certain things, such as phone numbers, birthdays of loved ones, and special occasions.

Having said that, the problems regarding lack of sleep can be addressed efficiently by implementing several steps into one’s life. Those who are suffering from chronic sleeplessness should try to manage their time wisely, regardless of their shifting work schedule. Therefore, they should form a strong habit of going to bed on time at night and waking up in the morning instead of spending their quality time on unnecessary things with the help of cutting-edge devices, that is to say, mobile phones, laptops, and tablets, which can lead to eye strain. For instance, the working hours of the dispatchers in a logistics company in Brooklyn, New York, consist of 10 hours according to a fixed work schedule, with no extra hours to work, in order to avoid sleep deprivation and boost productivity in the workplace. Therefore, time management plays a pivotal role in getting enough sleep.

In conclusion, although there are some health-related consequences as a result of not getting sufficient sleep, avoiding modern technologies as well as gadgets and adopting time management are the best cures to this matter.