Nowadays, more people travel abroad for tourism than ever before.Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, international tourism has become increasingly popular, with more people travelling overseas than ever before. While some argue that this trend has negative consequences, I believe it is largely a positive development as it promotes cultural understanding and supports economic growth in many countries.

First and foremost, boosting economies is one of the main advantages of tourism. For example, many Mediterranean countries rely on tourism to accelerate the growth of the economy as it helps domestic businesses thrive, and creates more job opportunities for the local workforce, facilitating financial development. Additionally, the role of tourism is undeniable in the preservation of heritage, shielding endangered industries or sectors, especially nuanced art forms from disappearing. The rising number of cultural exchange initiatives among international organizations and governments reveal that tourism is one of the primary tools for fostering cultural diversity and enhancing respect for foreign traditions and people from various backgrounds. Moreover, visitors can learn about other nations’ history, art and geography effectively by travelling, expanding their worldview and broadening horizons.

Despite these benefits, tourism poses certain drawbacks that cannot be overlooked. First, tourism has devastating repercussions for the environment and natural habitats. For instance, numerous flights take place each day, resulting in the alarming rate of harmful gas emissions that are being released and damaging air quality. Another major consequence is the loss of biodiversity and habitats in tourist destinations which is mainly driven by the irresponsible actions of visitors. For example, the marine life in the Great Barrier Reef on the northeast coast of Australia is destroyed by plastic waste which has led to a decline in the number of species in the ocean. Furthermore, the growing tourism rates cause noise pollution and higher living costs in popular touristic destinations where local people face several challenges due to their decreasing quality of life.

In conclusion, I think that while tourism contributes to environmental and social challenges, its merits outweigh the disadvantages. However, negative sides can be alleviated by implementing strict regulations and sustainable practices, and globally promoting eco-tourism policies.