Nowadays online shopping becomes more popular than in-store shopping. Is it a positive or a negative development?

In this day and age, e-commerce has been popular among customers around the world. Despite some arguments against this opinion, I firmly believe that e-commerce is beneficial.

Granted, one might argue that online shopping increases Internet crimes. It seems reasonable since the advent of online buying and online transactions, dealers may sell counterfeit products. Therefore, purchasers could receive low-quality products and end up losing their money, However, this line of reasoning fails to mention that online shopping could reduce the carbon footprints over the globe.This is because due to the advancement of technology, customers could purchase products easily without going to a physical shop which results in the reduction of the global carbon footprints and traffic congestion, potentially improving air quality and mitigating environmental problems which could contribute to better mental and physical health for city dwellers.

It is also noteworthy that online shopping may also present some challenges. For instance, shoppers may receive items in the wrong size when shopping online which can lead to feelings of disappointment and discomfort. Nevertheless, this perspective fails to consider that shoppers could have a wider range of options for the items they want to buy than buying in traditional shops. Additionally, the progress of online shopping may extend the job opportunities for people who major in IT. Hence, they may land jobs and contribute to the nation.

In conclusion, the booming of e-commerce presents significant advantages for both the environment and the society: reducing carbon footprints, expanding employment opportunities. Whereas in-shop shopping is the preferred choice of a group of customers, I strongly believe that this trend is irreversible and provides advantages for citizens.