Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

At present, Bicycles are not prevalently used by most people. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this problem before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle it.

There are two primary reasons as to why individuals are not keen on cycling. First and foremost, Using bicycles is not as convenient and fast as other means of transportation. This is because the speed of bicycles is slower compared to cars, and it would take much time and effort for bikers to get to desired places, especially for longer commutes or when carrying goods. Furthermore, cycling is not prevalent due to weather dependency. To be more precise, bicycling is often less appealing in areas with harsh weather conditions, such as heavy rains or extreme temperatures because driving bicycles has no shelter such as cars, buses, etc, which leads to individuals contracting some severe illnesses such as the flu.

To combat this worrying issue, the following essential steps should be taken. One remedy is to integrate with public transit. For example, in Vietnam, the governing bodies facilitate the integration of bicycling with other types of transportation, like allowing bikes and providing parking at transit stations so that it could reduce the amount of time to commute to work by using public transport and using the bicycle, eventually, this could help decrease the environmental degradation. Another solution is to promote cycling events. For instance, in the UK, some corporations organize community cycling on good weather days such as, races, or leisure rides with a treasure trove in order to raise awareness and get more citizens interested in cycling as a relaxing activity.

In conclusion, weather dependency and inconvenience are underlying motives, behind this negative tendency, and it is crucial to integrate bicycles with other means of public transportation as well as promote the community cycling day to encourage individuals to use bicycles more often.