Nowadays some consumers are less influenced by advertising than in the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, there has been some research highlighting the decreasing influence of advertisements on consumers. This trend might be caused by some reasons, namely the cautiousness from buyers and the readily available information on products. From my perspective, this change can be deemed positive, as it creates a competitive market while only allowing qualified products to survive.

The current shift in consumer’s attitude can be attributed to several factors. One of which is their deteriorating faith in advertisements. The primary reason why it appears is driven by misinformation, perceived deception, and a greater reliance on peer reviews and independent research. More and more this trend is leading consumers to become more skeptical of brands’ self-promotion and seek authenticity. As a result, the consumers value transparency that is meaning user-generated content, credible sources often from friends or trusted reviewers more than traditional ads. Moreover, because of the available information, consumers are prone to doing their own research instead of believing in companies.

The increasing influence of global brands and media can also have negative effects. Firstly, corporations will have to be more transparent about their products if they want to compete and gain trust from their customers, by publicly displaying information on their communications to the public. Secondly, many unqualified products will be wiped out, since they no longer have any flashy advertisements to hide behind.

In conclusion, it is the losing faith combined with proactiveness of consumers that reduced the influence of a company’s publicity, positively affecting the market and consumer’s rights.