Nowadays some consumers are less influenced by advertising than in the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

Recent research suggests that modern consumers are less influenced by advertising compared to the past. This shift can be attributed to several factors, and its implications can be viewed as both positive and negative.

One primary reason for this trend is the overwhelming amount of digital media and content, which reinforces the ease of access to social media. In the past, there was a minority of social content being explicit to internet users due to the limitation in legislation in different nations. However, in this day and age, with the enhancement of alternative sources of advertisement and various platforms, users are adapted with a many types of content on the internet. As a result, modern companies have the responsibility to give peer informations through content and find a genuine way to get in touch with users.

Another factor is the raising awarness of people when choosing contents, reflecting the trust that users are now bombarded with peer recommendations only. Consumers now believe in the original value of authentic experiences, not through visual one. This transformation shows a positive change in consumer’s satisfaction as they rely more on informations that has not been polished.

From my perspective, it is reasonable that the modification in consumer’s behaviour is a positive signal for the growth of social media. It encourages content creator to provide more contents with high quality in order to serve the consumer demands. Furthermore, this trend fosters a new innovation since businesses now have to put more efforts on making videos.

In conclusion, the decreased influence of advertising on consumers is driven by overexposure and the rise of alternative information sources. While this trend has positive aspects, such as promoting product quality and innovation, it also presents challenges for businesses and media sustainability.